Mysteries of the Most Holy Rosary

Why Pray the Rosary
Praying the Rosary

Mysteries of the Most Holy Rosary

The Mysteries of the Rosary are meditations on episodes in the life and death of Jesus from the Annunciation to the Ascension and beyond, known as the Joyful (or Joyous) Mysteries, the Sorrowful Mysteries, the Glorious Mysteries and the Luminous Mysteries. Pope Pius XII described the rosary prayer as “the compendium of the entire Gospel.”

JOYFUL MYSTERIES  (Recited on Mondays and Saturday and the Sundays in Advent.)
The Joyful Mysteries focus on the joyful events related to the Incarnation of Jesus Christ.

SORROWFUL MYSTERIES  (Recited on Tuesday and Fridays and Sundays in Lent.)
The Sorrowful Mysteries focus on the sorrowful events related to the Passion and Death of Jesus Christ.

GLORIOUS MYSTERIES  (Recited on Wednesdays and Sundays after Easter until Advent.) The Glorious Mysteries focus on the glorious events related to the Resurrection and the reigning of Christ in heaven with Our Lady.

LUMINOUS MYSTERIES (Recited on Thursdays.) The Luminous Mysteries or mysteries of light (added by Pope St. John Paul II) focus on the life and ministry of Jesus Christ.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email